Tammy Kelly and Trevor Toerien hold 25 Rhodes Run titles between them


When Kallie Burger crossed the line to claim his fourth consecutive Rhodes Run title statisticians went scrambling for the record books to see who else had won four consecutive Rhodes titles.

Marietta Sassenberg (nee van Rooyen), Tammy Kelly and Trevor Toerien jointly hold the record for consecutive wins. Marieta won the 40+ category six times, five of which were consecutive, Tammy was the overall Ladies champion for five consecutive years and Trevor claimed the 40+ title for five consecutive years.

Leilani Scheffer has four consecutive overall Ladies titles.

Other notable consecutive victories were the late Fritz Madel who took the 60+ title four times, three consecutive, Phillip van Niekerk has three consecutive 60+ titles to add to his two consecutive wins in the 50+ category and Gary Smith three consecutive overall wins.

Worthy of mention are the two consecutive wins in the ‘Petard’ 70+ age group by Peter Cross which followed his 50+ victory.

Heading the total number of Rhodes Run titles is Trevor Toerien with a bakers dozen and Tammy Kelly with a round dozen.

The leaderboard is getting crowded!


  • DMK
  • Organ Donor Foundation
  • Aramex